

## Dr Rateb Jneid re-elected AFIC President in AFIC's first post-Covid election

## **Media Statement**

**4 October 2022** 

In a fiercely contested election, incumbent President Dr Rateb Jneid was elected for his second term as president of the 58-year-old Australian Federation of Islamic Councils.

Dr Jneid who succeeded Keysar Trad to the position of president in 2017 told a gathering of Muslim leaders from all around Australia that he intends to intensify efforts to unite the community and lead Australian Muslims to greater participation in all the productive fields of Australian life.

"I am humbled by the confidence that Muslim Australians have placed in me, I will take the opportunity that my second presidential term provides to unite my community while simultaneously working to improve relations between Muslim and non-Muslim Australians." Said Dr Jneid.

"In contesting this election, some of my opponents resorted to slander and vilification to win votes. This slander is grossly un-Islamic, unethical, false and counterproductive. I am grateful that our voters saw through this and endorsed the values of honesty, integrity and hard work for which I stand. In the interests of the common good and notwithstanding the slander, I will work tirelessly to embrace, under my leadership, the factions within my community." Said Dr Jneid.

"I congratulate my new fellow executive committee members Harun Abdullah (Vice President), Mahabub Ali (Secretary), Adam Demir (Treasurer), Ms Siddiga Adam (Assistant Secretary) Mohamad Berjaoui (Assistant treasurer) and the remaining committee members Ahmed Hegazi, Abdul Wahab Neeman and Ahmad Taleb. I look, forward to work together for the best interest of our human family." Said Dr Jneid.



Australian Federation of Islamic Councils

The peak body for Australian Muslims representing





## **AFIC's Federal council**

From right to left (top): Executive Committee: Mohamad Berjaoui, Ahmed Hegazi, Ahmad Taleb, Dr Rateb Jneid, Mahabub Ali, Adam Demir, Siddiga Adam and Abdul Wahab Neeman, with State council presidents Hossam Elrayes, Adel Salman

Seated from right to left: Idris Osman, Amar Ali Khan, Zubair Sayed, Sadaruddin Choudhary, Syed Buhari and Ziad Jaber

Authorised by:

**Dr Rateb Jneid** 

President











